COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

SENATOR MAMIE E. LOCKE, Chair DELEGATE CARRIE E. COYNER, Vice-Chair ELIZABETH A. PALEN, Executive Director



701 EAST FRANKLIN STREET, SUITE 704, RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219

vhc.virginia.gov

(804) 967 - 3994

VIRGINIA HOUSING COMMISSION

AGENDA

Local Land-Use and Community Living Workgroup Tuesday August 20, 2024; 10:00 a.m. Senate Room C, the General Assembly Building

I.	Welcome and Call to Order	

Delegate David Bulova, Chair

II. Low Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC) Extension - Susan Gaston [30 minutes]

Stephanie Flanders, Virginia Housing Tom Simplot, Housing Policy Director at Sugar Creek Capital

III. Property Owners' Associations and Managed Conservation Landscaping - HB 528 (Krizek, P., 2024) [15 minutes]

Delegate Paul Krizek

IV. Entering Adjoining Property for Repair, Maintenance - SB 123 (VanValkenberg, S., 2024) [15 minutes]

Jesseca Hoff, Virginia Housing Commission

Joseph Hudgins, Independent Insurance Agents of Virginia

V. Local Government Actions related to Comprehensive Plans – SB 721 / HB 1236 (Mulchi, T., 2024) / (Marshall, D., 2024). [30 minutes]

Bryan Horn, Director of Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development

Andrew Hopewell, AICP, President, Virginia Chapter of the American Planning Association, Director, Town of Culpeper Department of Planning & Community Development

Will Cockrell, AICP, Land Use Education Program (LUEP) Director at Virginia Commonwealth University; Senior Planner with EPR, PC; Adjunct Faculty with UVA

Andrew Clark, Home Builders Association of Virginia

VI. Zoning; Certified Recovery Residence - HB 646 (Coyner, C., 2024) [30 minutes]

Brenda Castañeda, Deputy Director of Advocacy at H.O.M.E.

Joe Lerch, Virginia Association of Counties

Anthony Grimes, Executive Director, Virginia Association of Recovery Residences (VARR), Co-Founder of Willing Addicts Recovering (WAR)

David Rook, Former President at VARR, Former Director of Operations Manager at McShin Foundation, Former President at True Recovery RVA

VII. Public Comment

VIII. Adjourn

DELEGATE CARRIE E. COYNER DELEGATE DAVID L. BULOVA DELEGATE DANIEL W. MARSHALL II DELEGATE ADELE Y. MCCLURE DELEGATE BRIANA D. SEWELL SENATOR MAMIE E. LOCKE SENATOR GHAZALA F. HASHMI SENATOR WILLIAM M. STANLEY JOSHUA GOLDSCHMIDT MARTIN JOHNSON ASHLEY WELBURN